I must confess. The days leading up to Thanksgiving I was quite anxious about Thanksgiving. Not because of house cleaning, and preparations, but because Ryne and I made the decision to stay home. Of course we wanted to be with our family, but LONG story short- it was what we thought was best for us. Ryne ended up being gone on a trip from the Friday before Thanksgiving until the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. The kids and I were so excited to finally have dad home after being stuck inside while it was cold and rainy for almost five days! He was home in time for dinner and then headed back out Wednesday morning. ALL of that to say, it was so nice to all be together Thanksgiving morning. We stayed in our pajama’s until about 11:00 and finally got up, showered, and ready for our day. 

Image

    We have some friends that decided to stay home vs travel as well. We decided to team up. They made the turkey, stuffing, and pies, and I made the sides. (which I had already prepared the day before) 

 

When we arrived, the table was set- name cards and all 🙂

Image

 

The turkey looked SO good and it tasted even better! Thanks Stephen!!

Image

 

The stuffing was great too! Stephen made it out of gluten free bagels. I was so impressed with his culinary creativity and it was fantastic!

 

Image

 

 

 

This was the first side that I made. I was nervous because I had never made any of them before. However, this green bean casserole was great. I used steamed turnips, sautéed mushrooms, s & p, milk, and caramelized onions to make the sauce that surrounded the green beans. I will certainly be making it again. 

Image

 

This recipe was GREAT. Seriously. I know I may seem a little cauliflower crazy, but this recipe is one of the best yet. If you are wanting to try something new- start here. The coconut milk made this dish incredibly creamy and rich. We did not have any leftovers 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Image

 

The pies were so yummy! I was thankful because I had attempted a pumpkin pie the week before and failed miserably. I would rather eat them at a friends house than burn them in my kitchen. 

 

 

Image

 

The last side I made was mashed butternut squash. Mine looked nothing like the picture in the recipe. Everyone said they enjoyed it, but truth be told, I don’t really love sweet sides that should be savory. 

 

 

Image

